WIGS is the term referring to Wine in Grocery Stores, the affectionate but unofficial term for Retail Food Wine Vendor. This is the law that became effective in 2017 allowing grocery & convenient stores to sell wine.
You must have at least 1200 square feet of retail space and 20% of your sales must be from food that is taxed at the 5% food sales tax rate. Retail food store license is for selling wine by the bottle to individuals for off-premise consumption by eligible retail food stores. A completed application and all required documentation must be received in the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission Nashville office two (2) weeks prior to the commission meeting in order to be considered to be placed on the next Commission Agenda.
Please go to the TABC website, for information and forms.
You will find answers to this in specific FAQs. They will say Liquor Stores specifically if it is different than requirements for food stores.
Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission - 500 James Robertson Pkwy, 3rd Floor - Nashville TN 37243
You can call the TABC 615-741-1602. You can also contact Will Cheek or Kim Pouncey, just fill out the contact us info and we’ll get right back to you.
A 5-Year Manager Permit is issued by the TABC. This is the only permit allowing someone to order wine for a particular location.
A 5-Year Manager Permit is issued by the TABC. Only one manager has to be permitted for a liquor store.
Anyone that places wine orders must have a Manager Permit. We sometimes call these Designated Managers. We suggest for larger operations or stores that there be least two (2) Permitted Managers so wine orders can still be placed even if someone is out sick or on vacation. A Permitted Manager can only order wine for the store they are Permitted for.
Only one manager has to be permitted for a liquor store or winery location. This should be the manager that is normally on the premises but this manager doesn't have to be on the premises at all times.
No. While the sole proprietor is not required to obtain a permit, other managers, for are not the sole proprietor owner, of the sole proprietorship must get a Managers Permit. Employees who sell must become Certified Clerks.
You must notify the TABC in writing that you have moved from one location to another or changed companies.
To obtain a 5-Year TABC Manager Permit it is required you complete annual training of: 1) Either a Responsible Beer or Wine Vendor course approved by the TABC and 2) A Designated Manager course covering a review of current TABC Rules and Regulations.
Yes, if you are the person that is to become the Permitted Manager, your Blue Card has no effect on your status at this point.
TopShelf offered the training both online and classroom style. Either method is approved by the TABC.
TopShelf charges $50.00 for the online Designated Manager for Retail Food and $15.00 for the online Responsible Wine Vendor course. Classroom classes can be scheduled. The cost for Designated Manager is $100.00 per manager and $45.00 for the Responsible Wine Vendor.
You must submit a Manager's Permit application along with a Declaration of Citizenship (this must have a front and back copy of 2 forms of ID attached to it), your Designated Manager Certificate, Responsible Vendor Certificate, and a $200.00 company check, Cashier's Check or Money Order.
Yes, that is a requirement to keep your permit valid. You must complete both the Responsible Beer or Wine Vendor Program and the Designated Manager course every year.
Any individual seeking a Manager's Permit must not have been convicted of any crime involving the sale or distribution of alcohol over the previous eight (8) years or convicted of any felony within the pervious five (5) years. Even after this period expect the TABC to ask for your Court Disposition Papers.
No, a basic DUI is not a felony but again, the TABC might ask you to provide Court Disposition Papers to be sure you are not hiding something.
Yes. There are a few reasons a permit can be revoked, not complying the required training in a timely manner, selling alcohol to a minor, selling wine below 20% markup, or any violation of Title 57 of the TCA, and/or rules and regulations of the TABC.
This is someone that has completed the required training and is certified to work a register and sell wine. They should also appear on your TABC Certified Clerks List.
Anyone that is going to be working a register and ringing wine sales.
In the beginning, clerks have a 61 day grace period. Certified Clerks must complete either and online or classroom Responsible Wine Vendor course approved by the TABC before their 61 day grace period has ended. All clerk certificates need to be easily available when the TABC comes in for inspection
No, the transaction can only be completed by someone 18 years of age or older.
Certified Clerks must be at least 18 years old, cannot have be criminally convicted of any violation of the laws against possession, sale, manufacture, or transportation of alcoholic beverages, wine, beer or malt beverages within the past ten (10) years and not convicted of any crime involving moral turpitude within the past ten (10) years. If any of these things are on their record they will be required to submit Court Disposition Papers even if it is past the time requirements.
No, not unless it was a felony. You will probably be required to submit Court Disposition Papers just so the TABC knows you are telling the truth.
Any crime against humanity. Things like armed robbery, sex related crimes, etc.
These are the documents given to you after your court date. They describe what you were actually convicted of, the date of your conviction, and your penalties. Copies of your disposition papers can be obtained from the courthouse that heard your case.
Certified Clerks must annually complete a Responsible Wine Vendor course.
No, but they will need to take the training and get their certification BEFORE their Blue Card expires.
TopShelf has both online and classroom Responsible Wine Vendor courses. The online course is $15.00 and the classroom is $45.00. To take the course online go to app.topshelfedu.com or ask your manager.
Certified Clerks have 61 days from their date of hire to take the required training. They do not have a grace period if their certificate is expiring. Even if they are not certified they must be on the Certified Clerks list and once they complete the training it is required to re-sumit the clerks list to the TABC with the training information updates.
We do not suggest you allow clerks to sell alcohol until they have been trained. Since they are within their grace period, you as a company will not be fined but the clerk will still be cited and carry all of the burden. If they are convicted, they might be prohibited from selling wine for up to 10 years and for many that would seriously affect their livelihood.
Yes. TopShelf has a very budget friendly pricing structure. You can email [email protected] or call 865-521-8085 to speak with someone about pricing and the TopShelf TRAX system.
No, the training can be done online or in a classroom.
When the RWV law first passed the annual renewal was called a refresher course.
This form is required by the TABC. It includes all clerks and non permitted managers that ring up wine. It must accompany your Wine Vendor Certification application and includes new hires within the 61 day grace period and those clerks that have completed their training.
Yes. Just note they have a Blue Card and write in the date it expires.
You will be required to submit the Clerks List annually along with your Wine Vendor application. The cost is based on the number of clerks you have within a location. 0-15 Clerks $150.00 ∞ 16-30 Clerks $200.00 ∞ 31-45 Clerks $250.00 ∞ 46-60 Clerks $300.00 ∞ 61-100 Clerks $350.00 ∞ 101-150 Clerks $400.00 ∞ 151-200 Certified Clerks $450.00 ∞ 200+ Clerks $450.00 plus $50.00 per 50 clerks
You will need to submit your Clerks List every 30 days you have changes. This means all terminated clerks, newly hired clerks, and newly trained clerks since the last time it was submitted.
A completed Responsible Wine Vendor application accompanied with the proper payment for the number of clerks on your list.
It is your regular license renewal plus the cost of your Certified Clerks List
Yes, you must annually renew your TABC license to sell alcohol by completing the application and submitting your license fee.
8:00 AM until 11:00 PM Monday through Saturday. NO SALES ON SUNDAY!
You cannot sell wine on New Year's Day, July 4, Labor Day, Thanksgiving or Christmas Day.
Yes. This is not a sale.
Yes. If you do not card someone that is obviously at least 50 years old there is no penalty.